feet first


i came into this world feet first they told my mother out of her three sons, i would be the one always on the run.
i’d go through life without a care the thoughts i had, i would not share. i never stood around long enough for  anyone to get close to me for too much pain i did see.
i joined the army, so i would not be  close to any family. little did i know that my thoughts would change and from here on, i would never be the same.
i played the field with all the girls and told them whatever they wanted to hear. but i also made it quite clear
that i was a man on the run and not be put under the gun.
i was like the wind, here one minute and gone the next, and i would not be a sacrificial test.       til the day that i went to the company dance and glanced across the floor. there she stood proud as can be just as if she was waiting for me.
i walked across the floor like a fox  waiting for its prey. she looked at me, and told me to go away.
astounded, dumbfounded, i could not believe. i did this to others, not them to me. i sucked in the air and put out my chest of me she would not get the best.
i walked over to her again and asked her to dance she looked at me and said ‘not a chance’ my friends tell me that you’re always on the run but with me, you will have no fun.
i was born feet first just like you but  at least i knew what to do. i know when to slow down and make it last i don’t dwindle on the past.
you’re getting older and it’s time to settle down but not one, with whom  you’ve found.
because you have seen a lot of pain does’nt mean that everyones the same. open your heart so that you could see all the beauty thats within me.
i apologized and asked if we could start from scratch for my ways i had to patch.
we started it off very slow and i knew i had a long way to go. but if i had her by my side  everything would turn out fine.
i told my family what i found. and that i was settling down.     then i said to my family: 
this is  a comical, egotistical story there is no fame, there is no glory.    i came out on the run, and now i’m enjoying life, and having fun.

louis rams :
About poetlou

i am known as the story telling poet and my poems are in rhyme and verse. i write about all subject matter. i am also on poemhunter.con with over 700 poems listed and on five other sites. i have written a " hope series" with thirteen stories which i think is of interest, and i will post the first one and if you like it , i will then post the others. ENJOY THE READS
This entry was posted in abuse, conceit and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

